Application developed using Flex 4 and DCD targeting Flash Player on Android Device

March 4, 2010

Used Flex 4 and Data-Centric Development (DCD) in Flash Builder 4 to create a application which can be used in devices with Flash Player 10.1 support. This applications loads data from tomcat server configured with LiveCycle DS; Lets the user view the data and edit the same. Please find below the screen shots of the application running on Google Nexus One with Flash Player 10.1 🙂

Note: I took the screen shots of the application running on Google Nexus One phone using Dalvik Debug Monitor packaged with Android SDK

I also wanted to see if I can use the same application to target Flash Player running on bigger screens like Mac. Since I used Flex 4, I just created different skins for my custom components so that the applications looks good when launched from a Mac or PC. After creating the skins, all I had to do was to change the <style> tag in the main application to point to the css configured with my new skins and re-compile my application. Please see below the screen shot of the application launched from Firefox on my mac 🙂

The application developed here is consuming data from a Data Management Service destination of LiveCycle DS (LCDS) and so any changes to the data on the mobile devices is pushed to all other clients viewing the same data 🙂 In the last image below, you can see the changes made on the mobile being pushed onto the application running on Mac.

Screen Shots:

View Products

View Products

View Products 2

View Products 2

Edit Product View

Edit Product View

Editing Product Name using Android Keyboard

Editing Product Name using Android Keyboard

Viewing Edited Product

Viewing Edited Product

Application Running on Mac

Application Running on Mac

Adobe Rocks 🙂